Christmas Cupcakes…….

A few weeks back when lil miss and I were doing the weekly grocery shop we spied some Christmas cupcake packs – 24 cupcake papers, and 24 cupcake picks in Christmas colours/themes – so I grabbed a couple of packs, after all school holidays were about to start and the kids would need a) feeding and b) entertaining – so why not cover both in one step *genius*

Today I got the urge to bake – I wanted cupcakes, nothing fancy or complicated, just a nice vanilla cupcake with a simple butter icing. So off to google I went in search of the perfect recipe, I was actually looking for this one but ended up finding one from Chelsea Sugar that looked nice and easy – so off I went to the kitchen with my recipe in hand but for some reason no children……lil miss soon made an appearance when she realised that there was some baking about to begin!

The recipe is very simple and straight forward

150g butter, softened (I used marg and it seemed fine) and 1 1/2 cups Chelsea Caster Sugar
Beat until light and fluffy
add 2 eggs
Mix well
add in 2 tsp vanilla essence, 2 1/2 cups self-raising flour and 1 1/4 cups milk
Beat until smooth
Spoon into cupcake papers until 2/3 full (if you overfill them they will form peaks) and then bake in the oven.

Suddenly once the 2 trays of cupcakes were pulled out of the oven I had all 3 kids ready to help with the next stage – icing!
We made the icing that was suggested in the recipe, but instead of using plain icing sugar we used the berry flavoured one – it was ok, very sweet – think I will stick to my normal Wilton buttercream recipe though.

So on the icing went, a couple of added decorations and the wee picks that came in the bag and voilà Christmas themed cupcakes ready for dessert (now I wish I had some candy canes left so I could have crushed them up and added them to the batter – oh well always next week 🙂 )
Image

While I wasn’t very impressed with the icing, the cupcakes themselves were yummy – nice and soft, not crumbly or dry. Just watch the cooking time & temp, I ended up cooking them at 180°C for 15 minutes and they came out perfectly!

Leave a Reply

