Back to School………nearly

Summer holidays are nearly over – 2 weeks exactly and school will be back in for my big boys

The boys are still in Southland, enjoying exploring parts of New Zealand that I haven’t even been too! The latest updates via facebook are photos of an amazing waterfall (Purakaunui Falls), and a close up encounter with a Tuatara. School is probably the last thing they are thinking of at the moment.
Lil miss and I had the pleasure of trudging around town today buying up all the requirements on their stationery list – books, pens, pencils, rubbers etc. By the time we got home it was mid morning and we were both tired and worn out AND to top it all off the weather was horrible so we were shut up inside – with lil miss on the verge of a meltdown I knew that I needed to come up with a plan so that we both survived the afternoon. Lil miss LOVES playing with her wooden kitchen and food, so since it was almost lunchtime I decided to get her into the kitchen. Between the both of us we create our very own ‘subway bar’ – bowls of all of our favourite salad ingredients, cucumber, tomato, lettuce, spring onion, cheese, carrot and capsicum, were soon lined up on the kitchen table along side a small plate of ham slices and some long bread buns. Lil miss then set about creating her very own subway style roll – she was so proud of herself and sat down quietly munching away on her lunch (in a much happier mood than before) and talking about the different bits and pieces she had in roll, or rather she had falling out of her roll! It was a fantastic way to spend an hour or so and I could tell that lil miss was so proud of herself for not only making her roll, but for helping to pick the fillings, getting the bowls etc and it got me thinking how will we spend the rest of the holidays?

I am really hoping that the weather improves dramatically for the next couple of weeks because by the time I take my work days out I only have 4 full days to spend with the kids (we will also have 3 mornings to potter around home or close by home, as well as two afternoons). There are still lots of things that I want to do – after being free to spend all holidays with my kids, working has definitely been a wake up to how lucky I had been!).
So the list of “must do” things before school goes back is
* Walks through the Karangahake Gorge 
* Trip to Bullswool Farm (this will probably be done on the way to or from the walk through the gorge)
* Spend the day at the beach building sandcastles and swimming
* Martha Mine Pit Rim walk (Something I have always wanted to do but never got around to doing)
* BAKING! The tins, or rather the freezer bags, will need to be filled ahead of the new school year 🙂

I can’t believe how fast the holidays seem to have gone this Summer! I can’t wait to hear all about the adventure that the boys have had down South, and to finish the break off with a few adventures of our own – i’ll be sure to blog them so you can all share too!

Leave a Reply

